Show Horses


What is this?

Show horses are equines used within the framework of shows for entertainment. These can be of different breeds and morphologies and, like true entertainment professionals, are used to music, stage lighting and of course the reactions of the public.

Both riding and on foot, the equestrian showman needs to work on a daily basis with the horse in order to establish a relationship based on trust.

Equestrian shows were originally drawn from the movements in military equestrian combat.

A Little History

Under the influence of Italian princely courts of the renaissance, French equestrians started to teach new riding techniques, introducing dance and music in the horse ballets.

In 16th and 17th centuries, equestrian art was tied to the aristocracy. The riding school in Versailles where young noblemen were trained to become officers stood out for the quality of the equestrian education taught by great horsemen.

The invention of cavalry charges, in the second half of the 18th century, transformed the use of horses, and the finer points of dressage were cast aside, to be replaced by a more utilitarian type of horsemanship.

In the 18th century, British equestrian Philip Astley created the “circus” ring for riding in a circle. The concept was imported to France in 1774 and revolutionized the traditional rules of horse-riding and horse-showing. It is from the meeting in 1778 of Philip Astley with Italian equestrian Antonio Franconi, whose ambition was to bring together horsemen and entertainers, that the modern circus was created.

In 1807, Antonio Franconi and his sons opened the Cirque Olympique equestrian theater which had a stage attached to the ring. The use of horses shaped the French circus world of the first half of the 19th century with historical and military pantomimes as well as melodrama.

The great French riding master François Baucher presented his exquisitely trained best horses at the Cirque des Champs Elysées (1838-1848). These won over the Parisian audiences by their precise movements and figures.

The ring originated with horses, and it is horses that were largely at the root of the evolution of form, show registers, repertory and circus vocabulary during the whole of the 19th century (quote by Jean Michel Guy, “Le Cirque a l’Ancienne”)

Following the Napoleonic Wars, during which the French cavalry was decimated, military equitation was reconstructed in Saumur which became known as the the Royal Cavalry School from 1825. Jean-Baptiste Cordier introduced airs above the ground as well as work in between pillars. The airs above the ground prepared the horsemen for the heavy shocks of riding in battle. To this day, the Cadre Noir is world-renowned for its airs above the ground.

Since 2011, France has gained international recognition, with “Equitation in the French Tradition” being included in the UNESCO list of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity.




Up until the beginning of the Second World War, shows with horses gradually became rarer in circuses, and were replaced with shows featuring exotic animals as well as trapeze performances.


In 1974, Sylvia Monfort and Alexis Grüss brought horses back to center stage with their old-fashioned circus. This was based heavily on 19th century presentation rules that were heavily anchored in their era (costumes, lighting, etc.). This became the forerunner of a new type of a circus art that revived old-fashioned approaches through new companies such as Théatre Zingaro, Théatre du Centaure, Cirque Bidon etc..


Heavy horses are well-represented in today’s equestrian show world. Depending on their abilities, they can be found in various segments of the show world, including horses at liberty, haute école classical dressage, horse-vaulting, and working equitation.


The Disciplines


At Liberty

The equestrian artist uses only voice and whip, standing in the arena and leading the horses through choreographed paces. This is highly precise work that requires a great deal of training for each horse to know and implement instructions.

Horse Vaulting

Equestrian acrobats perform trick riding, stunts, human pyramids and the like. It includes classical vaulting, Cossack vaulting and Roman riding.

Haute Ecole Classical dressage

The horse and rider combination goes through the classical movements of academic equitation: piaffe, half-pass, passage, canter changes, pirouette, Spanish walk, levade, croupade etc.

Haute Ecole can also be done on foot, using long reins.

Working Equitation

Work equitation is derived from the traditional use of horses for driving cattle and in every day tasks.


Sources : Centre National de Ressources des Arts de la rue et des Arts du cirque Les origines de l’équitation (National Resource Center for Street and Circus Arts) – Association culture et tradition équestre française (“The Origins of Equitation” – Association for French Culture and Equestrian Tradition) Le cadre noir



For More information about : Show Horses

Le cirque à l’ancienne (old-fashioned circus) Centre National des Arts du Cirque (National Centre for Circus Arts)

Le cadre noir

Anes et chevaux de spectacle

 

 

Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Le cheval de spectacle est un équidé qui est mis en scène lors d’une représentation équestre. De races et de morphologies différentes, en véritables professionnels du spectacle, les chevaux sont habitués à la musique, aux éclairages et bien sûr aux réactions du public.

A cheval ou à pied, l’artiste équestre doit travailler quotidiennement avec son cheval pour créer une relation de confiance.

Le spectacle équestre trouve son origine dans les mouvements de combat équestres militaires.

Un peu d’histoire

Sous l’influence de la vie des cours princières italiennes pendant la Renaissance, les écuyers français enseignent de nouvelles techniques pour monter à cheval en introduisant des danses et de la musique lors des ballets de chevaux.

Aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles, l’art équestre est un art aristocratique. Le Manège de Versailles où se forment les jeunes nobles dans leur préparation au métier d’officier brille par l’éducation équestre qui y est dispensée par les grands écuyers.

L’invention de la charge de cavalerie pendant la seconde partie du XVIIIe, modifie l’emploi des chevaux, la finesse du dressage est délaissée au profit d’une équitation simplement utilitaire.

Au XVIIIe siècle, Philip Astley, écuyer britannique, est à l’origine de la piste. Cette scène circulaire a été conçue pour le cheval afin qu’il puisse y galoper à vitesse constante. Importée en France en 1774, la piste bouleversa les codes traditionnels de l’équitation et du spectacle. C’est de la rencontre, en 1778, entre Philip Astley et Antonio Franconi, écuyer italien qui avait pour ambition de réunir écuyers et saltimbanques, que va naitre le cirque moderne.

Antonio Franconi et ses fils ouvrent en 1807, le théâtre équestre du Cirque Olympique avec une scène accolée à la piste, la présence des chevaux détermine le cirque français de la première moitié du XIXe siècle, on y présente des pantomimes historiques et militaires ainsi que des mélodrames.

Francois Baucher présentera au cirque des Champs Elysée (1838-1848) ses meilleurs chevaux admirablement dressés qui subjuguèrent le public parisien par la précision de leurs figures.

C’est le cheval qui est à l’origine de la piste et c’est lui qui a largement contribué à conditionner l’évolution des formes, des registres spectaculaires, du répertoire et du vocabulaire circassien tout au long du XIXe siècle (citation de Jean Michel Guy le cirque à l’ancienne)

Au lendemain des guerres napoléoniennes, lors desquelles la cavalerie française fut décimée, l’équitation militaire est réorganisée à Saumur et prend le nom en 1825 d’école Royale de cavalerie. Cordier imposa les principes de Versailles et introduisit à Saumur le travail des sauteurs en liberté et dans les piliers. Ces sauts préparaient les cavaliers aux rudes secousses du combat. Ces sauts font encore aujourd’hui la renommée du Cadre noir

Depuis 2011, la France s’illustre à l’échelle internationale par son équitation inscrite au patrimoine mon­dial de l’UNESCO en tant que patrimoine culturel immatériel de l’humanité

Ouragan

©

Aujourd’hui

Jusqu’au début de la seconde guerre mondiale, les représentations équestres ont progressivement disparu dans les cirques au profit bien souvent des exhibitions d’animaux exotiques et des disciplines aériennes.

En 1974, Sylvia Monfort et Alexis Grüss remettent le cheval au cœur du spectacle avec le Cirque à l’ancienne. Ce dernier s’appuie sur les codes des représentations du XIXe siècle avec un ancrage fort dans son époque (costumes, jeux de lumière…). Ce renouveau des Arts du cirque qui se réapproprie les codes de l’Art équestre, préfigure la création de nouvelles compagnies (Théâtre de Zingaro, Théâtre du Centaure, le Cirque Bidon…)

Les équidés de travail sont bien représentés dans les spectacles équestres aujourd’hui. En fonction des leurs aptitudes, on les retrouve dans les différentes disciplines qu’offre le spectacle la liberté, la haute école, l’acrobatie équestre et l’équitation de travail.

Les disciplines

La liberté

Avec pour seuls outils, sa voix et sa chambrière, l’artiste équestre, au centre de la piste, dirige ses chevaux dans des chorégraphies. C’est un travail très précis qui demande beaucoup d’entrainement afin que chaque cheval identifie et applique les indications qui lui sont données sans se laisser distraire.

L’acrobatie équestre

Sur un cheval, les acrobates équestres présentent des tours périlleux, des cascades, des pyramides. On y retrouve la voltige dite « classique », la voltige cosaque et la poste hongroise.

La haute école

Le couple cavalier/cheval réalise des figures classiques de l’équitation académique : piaffer, appuyer, passage, travail au galop, pirouette, pas espagnol, levade, croupade….

La haute école peut également être chorégraphiée à pied, à l’aide de longues rênes.

L’équitation de travail

L’équitation de travail est issue de l’utilisation traditionnelle du cheval dans la conduite du bétail et dans les travaux quotidiens.

Sources : Centre National de Ressources des Arts de la rue et des Arts du cirque Les origines de l’équitation – Association culture et tradition équestre française Le cadre noir

En savoir plus sur : Anes et chevaux de spectacle

Le cirque à l’ancienne Centre National des Arts du Cirque Le cadre noir