What is this?

Eco-pastoralism is also known as eco-grazing.

Eco-pastoralism is an alternative solution for the ecological management of environments by rustic breeds of herbivorous animals. It uses their feeding pattern to ensure the upkeep of the environment by grazing on grass and other vegetation. It brings with it a lower environmental impact: reduction of additive input and waste, natural fertilisation of the soil, no noise pollution, etc. This technique most particularly enables the upkeep of hard-to-reach areas (wetlands, scrubland, undergrowth, slopes etc.)

Eco-pastoralism or eco-grazing is an ancient method which was widely used by our ancestors in rural and mountainous areas. It consisted of letting herbivorous animals deal with upkeep, but became obsolete after the Second World War, replaced by mechanical tools and chemical weeding.

Recently, eco-pastoralism has been making a comeback thanks to greater awareness by the general public concerning the environment and the upholding of biodiversity. The principal aim of eco-grazing is not financial viability but the upkeep and restoration of environments whilst limiting expenses.

This approach to the upkeep of land enables the maintenance of biodiversity and the promotion of breeds that are seen as having little value, but it also has many other advantages.

© E. Rousseaux - Grands noirs du Berry

© E. Rousseaux – Grands noirs du Berry


  • Restoration, maintenance and development of biodiversity;
  • A lower impact on the environment (reduced carbon emissions, zero treatment, natural fertilisation, zero waste, zero noise etc.);
  • Replacement/complementarity of mechanical upkeep;
  • Upkeep of hard-to-reach zones (wetlands, scrubland, undergrowth, sloping terrain etc.);
  • Creation of areas that are pleasant for walkers and other users, children in particular: admiring unusual-looking animals, pleasant and animated setting!
  • A place for exchange and discovery/social ties;
  • Taking part in conservation and the promotion of ancient and rare breeds,
  • Communication asset;
  • Even economies in operational costs depending on the methods used.

The Impact of Equine Grazing on Green Spaces

The direct impact of large herbivores on plants is principally tied to their selective consumption and trampling (HESTER et al. 2006)

In addition, the effect of herbivores on the diversity of grazing lands is strongly tied to the selection of various types of animal (cf. ROOK et al. 2004 for a summary). The size, digestive physiology, oral and dental morphology of various herbivores tie in to the differences in food selection, and thereby in the potential impact on the diversity of the growth cover. In fact, grazing by horses leads to the creation of areas of short grass within a matrix of tall grasses that are little used for feeding and where elimination is concentrated.

In grazing, the use of contrasting load levels (the combined weight of herbivores per hectare) is a means to impact the structure of prairies and the quality of grazing resources. The degree of grazing by herbivores also impacts the evolution of plant composition for the cover (few references regarding equines).

The opening-up of the environment by grazing and trampling by horses encourages the replacement of species that compete for light by small species and/or those that compete for nutrients in the soil, which brings about the coexistence of a greater variety of species.

In the Camargue region, for example, horses have also limited the development of certain perennial species (the Phragmites australis reed in swamps, Dactylis Glomerata orchard grass and Agropyron Repens couch grass in prairies, to the advantage of annuals such as the Bellis Annua daisy).

© ANR – Henson – Pâturage équin dans la Baie de Somme

The Impact of Equine Grazing on Animal Communities

Horses favour the conservation of animal species that require open spaces. As is the case for plant diversity, the structural heterogeneity generated by equine grazing enables the coexistence of several habitats with complementary food resources, and in which insects and birds are protected from bad weather and predators.

Impact on Birds

© E. Rousseaux – Camarguais

Several studies, mainly conducted in wetlands, show how equine grazing can be beneficial to bird life. In the Camargue, equine-bovine grazing has led to the increase in food resources for herbivorous and seed-eating birds (eg. Gadwalls or Anas Strepera, Mallards or Anas Platyrhynchos; (DUNCAN and D’HERBES, 1982). By limiting airborne development of wetland plants (eg. Sea Clubrush or Scirpus Maritimus, and the Common Reed or Phragmtes Australis), herbivorous animals have increased the amount of light available to the phanerogams and underwater algae consumed by the birds.

A short vegetation, maintained by equine grazing, can also favour insect-eating birds who can pinpoint their prey more easily in barren zones.



Impact on Small Mammals

Few studies have looked at the impact of equine grazing on small mammals.

In the Camargue, Orchard Grass prairies from which equine grazing was removed were colonised by the Mediterranean Vole (Pitymys Dudodecimcostatus), probably due to the higher cover level and the absence of soil compaction (DUNCAN, 1992).

The facilitating effect of large herbivores towards small mammals was shown in the OOSTERVELD (1983) study in which rabbits benefited from the open areas maintained by large herbivores, including horses, as it is difficult for them to maintain zones open.

Impact on Invertebrates

Worm species play a major role in preserving biodiversity in prairies by providing food for many vertebrate species and through their effect on vertical migration of the seed bank. Research studies that were carried out n the banks of the Rhône river show that the relatively poor worm biomass of an environment that has remained ungrazed for several years can be multiplied by ten after three years of intensive grazing by horses (NICAISE, 1996).

A Synergy with Bovines that Can Be Taken Advantage of in Mixed Zones

© Collection SFET - Landais

© Collection SFET – Landais

The diet of grazing equines is quite similar to that of bovines. Nevertheless, horses make much less use of broadleafs (flowering plants) than ruminant species, because of their lesser capacity to eliminate their secondary metabolite toxins (DUNCAN, 1992). They are therefore keener on monocots and have a preference for grasses.

The practice of mixed grazing is based on the synergy between animal species in making use of diversified resources.

In the Marais Poitevin region, a mixed equine-bovine grazing pasture proved to be more favourable for botanic diversity in terms of improving the diversity in higher zones (less used by horses) thanks to bovines. The later, being unable to obtain their daily ration on the short grass ones due to the unique structure of their incisors, fell back on the higher zones and there, limited the development of nitrophilous species (the structure of equine incisors allows them access to shorter growth).

In mid-mountain areas (Massif Central), the introduction of horses in a bovine herd led to improvements in the pastoral value and the specific richness of the growth due to the control of low-nutritional value grasses by the equines.

It would therefore seem that equines have numerous assets, complementary to those of domesticated ruminants, for the preservation or expansion of biodiversity in prairies.



Bibliographical References: Fleurance G, Duncan P, Farruggia A, Dumont B, Lecomte T. 2011. Impact du pâturage équin sur la diversité floristique et faunistique des milieux pâturés. Fourrages (Impact of Equine Grazing on the Flora and Fauna Diversity of Grazed Areas. Fodder.)

For More information about : Eco-grazing

Téléchargez le dépliant

Eco-pâturage équin

Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

L’éco-pâturage  est aussi appelé éco-pastoralisme.

L’éco pastoralisme est une solution alternative de gestion écologique des milieux par des herbivores issus de races rustiques. Il fait appel à leur comportement alimentaire pour assurer l’entretien du milieu par le broutage de l’herbe et de la végétation. Il permet une diminution de l’impact environnemental : réduction des intrants et des déchets, fertilisation naturelle des sols, absence de pollution sonore, etc. Cette technique permet notamment l’entretien des zones difficiles d’accès (zones humides, broussailles, sous-bois, milieux pentus, etc.).

L’éco-pastoralisme ou éco-pâturage est une méthode ancienne que nos ancêtres utilisaient très largement en zone rurale et montagneuse. Cette méthode tombée en désuétude après la Seconde guerre mondiale au profit de l’entretien mécanique et du désherbage chimique, consistait à confier l’entretien des espaces aux herbivores.

L’éco-pastoralisme fait depuis peu un retour en force, bénéficiant de la prise de conscience générale pour l’environnement et le maintien de la biodiversité. Le but principal de l’éco-pâturage n’est pas la rentabilité économique mais le maintien ou la restauration du milieu tout en limitant les coûts de gestion.

Ce mode d’entretien des terres permet le maintien de la biodiversité et la promotion de races peu valorisées, mais il a également un bon nombre d’autres atouts.

© E. Rousseaux - Grands noirs du Berry

© E. Rousseaux – Grands noirs du Berry

Avantages

  • Restauration, maintien ou développement de la biodiversité ;
  • Diminution de l’impact environnemental (réduction des émissions de carbone, zéro traitement, fertilisation naturelle, zéro déchet, zéro bruit, etc.) ;
  • Substitution / complémentarité à l’entretien mécanique ;
  • Entretien des zones difficiles d’accès (zone humide, broussaille, sous-bois, milieu pentu, etc.) ;
  • Création d’un site agréable pour les promeneurs et autres usagers, notamment pour les enfants : admiration d’animaux au look atypique, environnement agréable et animé !
  • Lieu d’échanges et de découvertes / Lien social ;
  • Participation à la conservation et à la promotion des races anciennes et peu communes ;
  • Atout de communication ;
  • Et même économie en frais de fonctionnement selon les méthodes employées.

Impact du pâturage équin sur les communautés végétales

Les effets directs des grands herbivores sur les plantes sont majoritairement liés à leur prélèvement sélectif et au piétinement (HESTER et al. 2006).

L’action des herbivores sur la diversité des milieux pâturés dépend en effet fortement de la sélectivité des différents types d’animaux (cf. ROOK et al. 2004 pour une synthèse). Le format, la physiologie digestive, la morphologie buccale et dentaire des espèces d’herbivores expliquent des différences de choix alimentaires, et donc d’impact potentiel sur la diversité des couverts. En particulier, le pâturage par les chevaux entraîne la création de zones d’herbes rases, au sein d’une matrice d’herbes hautes peu utilisée pour l’alimentation et où se concentrent les déjections.

Au pâturage, l’application de niveaux de chargements (cumul de poids des herbivores par hectare) contrastés  est un moyen d’agir sur la structure des prairies et la qualité des ressources herbagères. L’intensité du pâturage des herbivores a également des conséquences sur l’évolution de la composition floristique du couvert (peu de références en ce qui concerne les équins).

© ANR – Henson – Pâturage équin dans la Baie de Somme

L’ouverture du milieu par le pâturage et le piétinement des chevaux favorise le remplacement d’espèces compétitives pour la lumière par des espèces de petite taille et/ou compétitives vis-à-vis des nutriments du sol, ce qui permet la coexistence d’un plus grand nombre d’espèces.

En Camargue par exemple, les chevaux ont également limité le développement de certaines espèces pérennes (le roseau Phragmites australis dans les marais, le dactyle aggloméré, Dactylis glomerata et le chiendent Agropyron repens dans les prairies) au profit d’espèces annuelles (pâquerette annuelle Bellis annua).

Impact du pâturage équin sur les communautés animales

Les chevaux favorisent le maintien des espèces animales ayant besoin de milieux ouverts. Comme pour la diversité végétale, l’hétérogénéité structurale générée par le pâturage équin permet la coexistence de plusieurs habitats aux ressources alimentaires complémentaires et dans lesquels insectes et oiseaux sont protégés des intempéries et des prédateurs.

Impact sur les oiseaux

© E. Rousseaux – Camarguais

Plusieurs études, conduites principalement en zones humides, illustrent comment le pâturage équin peut favoriser l’avifaune. En Camargue, un pâturage équin – bovin a permis d’accroître l’abondance des ressources alimentaires des oiseaux d’eau herbivores et granivores (par ex. canard chipeau, Anas strepera, canard colvert, Anas platyrhynchos ; DUNCAN et D’HERBES, 1982). En limitant le développement aérien des plantes émergentes (par ex. scirpe maritime, Scirpus maritimus, phragmite commun, Phragmites australis), les herbivores ont augmenté la quantité de lumière disponible pour les phanérogames et algues submergées consommées par les oiseaux.

Une végétation courte, entretenue par le pâturage équin, peut également favoriser les oiseaux insectivores qui détectent plus facilement leurs proies au sein des zones rases.

Impact sur les petits mammifères

Peu d’études ont analysé l’impact du pâturage par les chevaux sur les populations de petits mammifères.

En Camargue, des prairies à dactyle soustraites au pâturage équin ont été colonisées par le campagnol provençal (Pitymys duodecimcostatus), probablement en raison de l’augmentation de la hauteur du couvert végétal et de l’absence de compaction du sol (DUNCAN, 1992).

Un effet facilitateur du pâturage des grands herbivores vis-à-vis des petits mammifères herbivores a pu être mis en évidence dans l’étude d’OOSTERVELD (1983) où les lapins ont bénéficié des zones rases entretenues par les grands herbivores dont les chevaux, alors qu’ils ne peuvent maintenir eux-mêmes ces couverts ras.

Impact sur les invertébrés

Au sein des prairies, les lombriciens jouent un rôle déterminant dans la préservation de la biodiversité en contribuant à l’alimentation de nombreuses espèces de vertébrés et en agissant sur les migrations verticales de la banque de graines. Des recherches effectuées sur les bords du Rhône montrent que la biomasse lombricienne relativement pauvre d’un milieu non pâturé pendant plusieurs années peut être multipliée par 10 après 3 années de pâturage extensif par les chevaux (NICAISE, 1996).

Une complémentarité avec les bovins qui peut être valorisée en pâturage mixte

© Collection SFET - Landais

© Collection SFET – Landais

Le régime alimentaire des équins au pâturage présente de fortes similitudes avec celui des bovins. Néanmoins, les chevaux utilisent moins largement les dicotylédones (les plantes à fleurs) que les ruminants car ils seraient moins aptes à détoxifier leurs métabolites secondaires (DUNCAN,1992). Ils sont donc plutôt spécialistes des monocotylédones et exploitent préférentiellement les graminées.

Les pratiques de pâturage mixte se fondent sur la complémentarité de la sélection des espèces animales pour utiliser plus complètement des ressources diversifiées.
Dans le Marais poitevin, un pâturage mixte équin-bovin s’est révélé le plus favorable sur le plan de la diversité botanique du fait de l’amélioration de la diversité des zones hautes (peu utilisées par les chevaux) grâce aux bovins. Ces derniers, ne pouvant prélever leur ration journalière sur les zones rases du fait de leur unique rangée d’incisives, se sont reportés sur les zones hautes et y ont limité le développement d’espèces nitrophiles compétitives (les équidés, eux, possèdent des incisives en haut et en bas, qui leur permet l’accès à un couvert plus ras).
En moyenne montagne (Massif Central), l’introduction de chevaux dans un troupeau de bovins a permis d’améliorer la valeur pastorale et la richesse spécifique du couvert du fait du contrôle des graminées de faible valeur alimentaire par les équins.

Il apparait donc que les équidés possèdent de nombreux atouts, complémentaires de ceux des ruminants domestiques, pour préserver ou accroître la biodiversité des prairies.

 

Bibliographical References: Fleurance G, Duncan P, Farruggia A, Dumont B, Lecomte T. 2011. Impact du pâturage équin sur la diversité floristique et faunistique des milieux pâturés. Fourrages (Impact of Equine Grazing on the Flora and Fauna Diversity of Grazed Areas. Fodder.)

En savoir plus sur : Eco-pâturage équin