Market gardening with horses

What is this ?

Market gardening is the growing of vegetables, some small fruit, some aromatic plants, herbs and flowers for human consumption, as well as medicinal plants, using a horse on a professional basis, with the aim of turning a profit or making a living, which differentiates it from simple gardening

The Advantages of using Horses in Market Gardening

Horses, mules and donkeys are very well-suited to market gardening where tractors are seldom seen. Rather, people use tillers or sometimes micro-tractors in market gardening where surfaces are often small (between 0.80 and 1.20 hectares). They are generally on a human scale that is equal to one unit of labour.

The Agronomic Aspect

Modern animal traction is best at limiting soil compaction. Its most immediate effect is to allow more air in, with this ventilation leading to the growth of bacterial and animal life in the soil and better decay of organic matter. However, a commonly-used agricultural practice, touted as the basis of evolution in agriculture, limits this effect: it’s the process of ploughing, even when this is done using animal traction. In fact, it puts pressure at the soil level, sometimes even smoothing it when done in wet weather. In certain types of soil, it helps to create large and indestructible clumps. All of the life in the soil is turned upside down.

Agronomic advantages of ridge planting or mounding

The soil does not react to climatic agents in a uniform way, with rain and the rays of the sun hitting the ridges at different angles, from one side or the other. The structure is thus better maintained and the soil remains better ventilated.

The consequences of soil sealing (destruction of agglomerates by heavy rain) is limited considerably. The clumps on the edges of mounds stay whole, increasing contact points between the soil and air, creating multiple shadow zones.

The surface of soil is multiplied when in contact with air, which favours gaseous and caloric exchanges. Life within the soil is amplified, particularly aerobic fauna. The diversity and importance of this fauna decrease the risk that pathogens will be present and favour the degradation of organic matter. Without ploughing, cultivation residue is integrated progressively. The humus is therefore mineralised without over-compaction in non-hydromorphic conditions.

Water management is improved. Indeed, all of the sun’s rays do not touch the ground at the same angle: The bottom of the mound will stay longer in shadow whereas the sides (depending on how the rows are oriented) will be more in shadow either in the morning or evening. There is less direct evaporation at the soil level. If the mounds are perpendicular, each rainfall during dry periods will collect in the hollows. It will penetrate all the more easily as the intra-mound area is under the surface. In the spring, which is a wet season, the excess water will run off in the hollows leaving the raised crop healthy when it comes to humidity. Drainage of the soil is speeded up, in particular at the top of the mounds which have better exposure to wind and sun. The market gardener can therefore sow more quickly after showers.

Source: PROMMATA Manual for Modern-Day Animal Traction

© JL. Dugast - PROMMATA

© JL. Dugast – PROMMATA

The Practical Aspect

Cultivating on mounds makes the job easier for a young market gardener, and a young horse will more easily follow the space between the mounds than the rows in flat cultivation.

The Economic Aspect

Using equines allows for financial and technical autonomy in small outfits given the low investment they require (Ref. the sheet on market gardening using animal traction – comparison of equipment, on the website of Association Trait Vienne) and the low operating costs (the energy that is consumed via fodder is recycled as compost and the animal engine can reproduce itself), helped by the wide range of possible activities.

The use of equines in market gardening allows for the development of short channels. It also provides an undeniable promotional and commercial advantage in dealing with customers, due to the excellent brand image it carries.

A study* comparing a 35hp two-wheel drive tractor with a horse shows the horse having a higher yield than the tractor (20% as opposed to 6% for the tractor). This gap is emphasised by the fact that horses can work in almost any type of soil, whatever the weather, whereas the use of tractors is limited by its weight and by the soil compaction it causes. One can also note that horses do not make use of fossil fuel energy and therefore cause neither damage to the ecosystem, nor noise pollution.

This same study also compares a horse to the same tractor driven by a less polluting bio-fuel. The horse still comes off better. The tractor would need the output from five hectares of oilseed crops that produce bio-fuels to run for a whole year whereas a horse only requires the output from one and a half hectares, divided between grass, hay, alfalfa and cereals.

One third of users of equines mention that the investment for the use of an equine is less than that for a motorised vehicle.

*B. Dangeard “Comparaison cheval-tracteur, consummation d’énergie et énergie récupérable” (Horse-Tractor Comparison, energy consumption and recoverable energy)

This statement must however be considered in the light of:

– Animal power is often acquired at a price which does not account for the total cost of its production, and which does not allow the breeders to live adequately off their work);

– Even though it allows the optimisation of the efficiency of animal traction and enhances its credibility, technically efficient equipment such as hoes, weeding brushes, weeding stars, and other tool combinations, tend to up the investment cost required considerably.

© JL. Dugast - Exploitation maraîchère dans le Jura

© JL. Dugast – Exploitation maraîchère dans le Jura

The Social Perspective

© E. Rousseaux

© E. Rousseaux – Maraîchage sous serre

Animal traction is a work tool on a human and environmental scale.

Its use in market gardening gives it a very positive natural image by meeting a growing demand for organic and natural products.

The horse meets the needs of a demanding client base, showing a return of interest in organic architecture and natural cultural techniques. Through its image, it can really add value to regionally-grown products.

The success of the work that is carried out is due in the greater part to the bond between the horse or donkey and their driver as it is necessary to make oneself understood, to request and to get the desired result. Putting in place such a work system requires a different approach towards the work. Animals require a learning period and physical training in order to be able to work correctly.

The life choice is also important. It is crucial to have someone there, to be organised and to have someone who can anticipate what work will be required on the equine side.

Some Figures

© E. Rousseaux

© E. Rousseaux

  • It takes 15 minutes to hoe a 500 square metre hothouse .
  • A horse can open and close the furrows on one hectare of potatoes in half a day.
  • The speed of a horse whilst hoeing is the same at which it walks, which is about 4.5km/h when precise work is being done.
  • The ideal spacing between cultivated rows is 70cm but can vary depending on the animal used.

 Strength and pulling Power of different animals

animal Weight (kg) Pulling Power (kg) Normal Speed (m/s) Power (W)
Draft Horse 700-1200 50-100 0,8-1,2 500-1000
Ordinary Horse 400-700 45-80 0,8-1,4 400-800
Mule 350-500 40-60 0,8-1,0 300-600
Donkey 150-300 20-40 0,6-0,8 75-200
Cow 400-600 50-60 0,6-0,8 200-400
Bull 500-900 60-80 0,5-0,7 300-500
Camel 500-1000 80-100 0,8-1,2 400-700
Buffalo 400-900 60-100 0,5-1,0 600-1000

Source FAO (Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations) / Force Motrice Animale (Animal Pulling Power)



For More information about : Market gardening with horses

Téléchargez le dépliant

Maraîchage au cheval

Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Le maraîchage au cheval, cest la culture de légumes, de certains petits fruits, de certaines plantes arômatiques,fines herbes et fleurs à usage alimentaire, ainsi que de plantes médicinales à l’aide d’un cheval, de manière professionnelle, c’est-à-dire dans le but d’en faire un profit ou simplement d’en vivre, ce qui le distingue du jardinage.

Les intérêts du maraîchage au cheval

Le cheval, la mule, ou l’âne sont particulièrement bien adaptés au maraîchage, le tracteur occupe peu de place, il est souvent remplacé par un motoculteur voir par un micro tracteur dans les structures maraîchères, et on y a souvent affaire à de petites surfaces (0,80 ares à 1,20 ha). Ce sont plutôt des structures à taille humaine correspondant à une UMO (Unité de Main d’Œuvre).

Sur le plan agronomique

La traction animale moderne limite au maximum le tassement du sol. Son effet le plus direct  se traduit par une meilleure pénétration de l’air, aération qui permet une augmentation de la vie bactérienne et animale dans le sol et une meilleure dégradation de la matière organique.

Une pratique agricole courante, présentée comme la base de l’évolution de l’agriculture, limite cependant cet effet : c’est le labour – même lorsqu’il est réalisé en traction animale. En effet, il exerce une pression au niveau du sol, parfois même un lissage lorsqu’il est effectué en conditions humides. Dans certains sols, il participe à la création de mottes importantes et indestructibles. L’ensemble de la vie du sol se trouve bouleversé, sens dessus-dessous. C’est pourquoi la culture sur buttes est conseillée.

Les avantages agronomiques  de la culture sur billons ou buttes :

La terre n’est pas soumise aux agents climatiques de façon uniforme, la pluie ou les rayons du soleil atteignent la butte selon des angles différents, d’un côté ou de l’autre. La structure se conserve mieux, la terre reste plus aérée.

L’effet de battance (destruction des agrégats par forte pluie) est considérablement limité. Les mottes des bords de la butte restent entières, multipliant les points de contact entre la terre et l’air, et créant de multiples zones d’ombre.

La surface de terre au contact de l’air est multipliée, ce qui favorise les échanges gazeux et caloriques. La vie du sol est augmentée, en particulier la faune aérobie. La diversité et l’importance de cette faune diminuent le risque de présence d’agents pathogènes et favorisent la dégradation de la matière organique. Sans labour, les résidus de culture sont intégrés progressivement. l’humus est donc minéralisé sans compactage excessif dans des conditions non hydromorphes.

La gestion de l’eau est améliorée. En effet, tous les rayons du soleil ne touchent pas la terre selon le même angle : le fond des  buttes reste plus longtemps à l’ombre, les côtés des buttes (selon l’orientation des rangs) sont soit le matin, soit le soir plus à l’ombre. L’évaporation directe au niveau du sol est diminuée. Chaque pluie en période sèche, si les buttes sont perpendiculaires à la pente, est recueillie dans les creux. Elle pénètre d’autant plus facilement que l’inter-butte est sous-solé. Au printemps, en période pluvieuse, les excès s’écoulent dans les creux alors que la culture reste saine surélevée par rapport à l’humidité. Le ressuyage du sol est accéléré, surtout sur le sommet de la butte qui est plus exposé au vent et au soleil. Le maraîcher peut ainsi semer plus rapidement après une averse.

Source PROMMATA Manuel de traction animale moderne

© JL. Dugast - PROMMATA

© JL. Dugast – PROMMATA

Sur le plan pratique :

On préfère là encore la culture sur butte qui facilite la tâche du jeune maraîcher, un jeune cheval suivra plus facilement

l’inter butte que l’inter rang en culture à plat, et peut se concentrer plus facilement à la gestion de son outil.

Sur le plan économique

L’utilisation des équidés permet l’autonomie financière et technique de petites structures grâce aux faibles investissements qu’elle occasionne (CF fiche maraichage en traction animale – comparatif équipement, sur le site Internet de l’Association Trait Vienne) et aux charges de fonctionnement réduites  (l’énergie consommée sous forme de fourrage est à réintégrer sous forme de compost et le moteur animal est auto reproductible) aidées en cela par la grande diversification des activités possibles.

L’utilisation des équidés en maraîchage permet le développement des circuits courts. Elle représente un avantage promotionnel et commercial indéniable vis-à-vis de la clientèle, grâce  à la bonne image de marque qu’elle véhicule.

Une étude comparant un tracteur de 35 CV deux roues motrices à un cheval met en évidence, pour le cheval,  un rendement supérieur au tracteur (20 % contre 6 % pour le tracteur). Cet écart est accentué par le fait que le cheval peut travailler sur presque tous les sols et par tous les temps alors que l’utilisation du tracteur est limitée du fait de son poids et du fort tassement des sols qu’il provoque. On peut également noter que le cheval n’utilise pas d’énergies fossiles et n’entraîne donc ni dégradation de l’écosystème, ni pollution sonore.

Cette étude compare également le cheval au même tracteur utilisant du bio-carburant, moins polluant. L’avantage revient encore au cheval. Le tracteur nécessiterait en effet l’exploitation d’une surface de 5 hectares d’oléagineux fournissant des bio-carburants pour fonctionner une année entière alors que le cheval ne nécessite qu’un hectare et demi, partagé entre l’herbe, le foin, la luzerne et le grain.

Un tiers des meneurs évoque le fait que l’investissement, pour l’utilisation d’un équidé, est moins élevé que pour l’utilisation d’un engin motorisé.

Source : B. Dangeard, « Comparaison cheval-tracteur, consommation d’énergie et énergie récupérable », 2005

Cette affirmation doit cependant être pondérée par le fait que :

– Le moteur animal est souvent acquis à un prix qui n’intègre pas l’ensemble des coûts de production, et qui ne permet pas à l’éleveur de vivre correctement de son travail ;

– Bien qu’il permette d’optimiser l’efficacité de la traction animale et de la rendre plus crédible, le développement d’équipements techniquement performants, tel que les doigts bineurs, brosses de sarclage, étoiles de sarclage, et autres combinaison d’outils, tire les investissements vers le haut…

© JL. Dugast - Exploitation maraîchère dans le Jura

© JL. Dugast – Exploitation maraîchère dans le Jura

 Sur le plan social

© E. Rousseaux

© E. Rousseaux – Maraîchage sous serre

La traction animale est un outil de travail à l’échelle de l’humain et de l’environnement.

Son utilisation dans la culture de produits maraîchers lui donne une image naturelle très positive en répondant à une demande de plus en plus forte pour les produits bios ou naturels.

Le cheval répond à la demande d’une clientèle exigeante, montrant un regain d’intérêt pour l’agriculture biologique et les techniques culturales naturelles. Par son image, il peut apporter une vraie valeur ajoutée aux produits cultivés et aux terroirs.

Le succès des travaux effectués est en grande partie lié à la complicité entre le cheval ou l’âne et son meneur, il faut savoir se faire comprendre, demander et obtenir. La mise en œuvre d’un tel système de travail nécessite une manière d’aborder le travail différemment. Les animaux ont besoin d’un apprentissage et d’un entraînement physique avant de pouvoir bien travailler.

De même le choix de vie est important, il est indispensable d’assurer une présence, d’avoir de l’organisation et de savoir anticiper le travail qui sera demandé aux équidés.

Quelques chiffres 

© E. Rousseaux

© E. Rousseaux

  • Pour une serre de 500 m², le binage est effectué en 15 minutes.
  • Pour 1 ha de pommes de terre, le cheval ouvre et rebouche les raies en une demi-journée.
  • La vitesse du cheval au binage est celui de son pas, soit environ 4.5 km/h avec un  travail précis.
  • L’espacement idéal entre les lignes de culture est de 70 cm, mais peut varier en fonction de l’animal utilisé.

 

Puissance et force de traction des différents animaux (Tableau extrait : FAO / Force motrice animale) :

Animal Poids(kg) Force de traction(kg) Vitesse normale (m/s) Puissance (W)
Cheval de trait 700-1200 50-100 0,8-1,2 500-1000
Cheval ordinaire 400-700 45-80 0,8-1,4 400-800
Mule 350-500 40-60 0,8-1,0 300-600
Âne 150-300 20-40 0,6-0,8 75-200
Vache 400-600 50-60 0,6-0,8 200-400
Taureau/bœuf 500-900 60-80 0,5-0,7 300-500
Chameau 500-1000 80-100 0,8-1,2 400-700
Buffle 400-900 60-100 0,5-1,0 600-1000

 

Sources : HIPPOTESE

En savoir plus sur : Maraîchage au cheval