Wine-growing with horses

What is this?

All od the techniques which use horses to cultivate vineyards

The Advantages of Wine-Growing With Horses

The main advantage of this technique lies in the highly precise nature of the work that is carried out, during which each row and each vine are dealt with almost individually. Working with horses in vineyards also ties in to the sustainability of the soil in order to bring value to the “terroir” and in operating in plots which are difficult to access with tractors (terraced plots or very sloping plots, for example).

ChâteauLatour. NUM047

© JL – Dugast – Château Latour

The Agricultural Aspect

One of the biggest strains in using mechanized traction to work the land is the compaction effect. The more the soil is ventilated, the more vulnerable to compaction it is. The tilling irons on motorised vineyard tractors are generally located just behind the front wheels, just in front of the rear wheels. The work is of good quality, but it is immediately compromised when the machine’s rear wheels pass over it. That causes a highly compacted “plough pan”. There is another set of teeth behind those wheels that try to negate this compaction, but they are not 100% efficient.

This type of plough pan has several disadvantages:

  • It acts as a fortification which slows down the soil biology. For example, earthworms can no longer rise to the surface in search of the organic matter they degrade and mix in with the soil, thus improving its structure. Stuck at depth, they end up dying.
  • The same thing goes for the mineral elements which find it hard to reach the plant, leading to the asphyxiation of the root system. The roots then try to reach the surface to survive, leaving behind them the nourishing elements of the “terroir” which come from the deep parts of the soil.
  • Finally, the loose earth which is on top of the plough pan suffers from erosion.

Working with horses thus avoids putting in place these plough pans. And if it is indeed true that the pressure upon the soil exerted by a moving horse is greater (per square centimetre) than that of a tractor, its bearing surface is almost zero. What is more, the work tool is behind the horse which will reverse any compaction caused by its passing.

The Biological, Chemical and Physical Life of the Soil is Brought Back to Life. The agricultural potential of the soil is better harnessed.

With a ventilated structure, the excess run-off rom rain is limited. The soil is ready for better water penetration, which makes it possible to build up in-depth reserves.

Lastly, working the soil with horses creates a soil structure which is much better suited to the health of the vines which have a root system that digs deep. Its water supply is better. The vines are more vigorous.

The Economic Aspect

The horse makes it possible for the wine-maker not to use any chemical weedkillers. In effect, with the “inter vine” tools that are fixed on the ploughs, complete weeding of the soil, even at the foot of the vines, is mechanical.

  • Ploughing with equines (horses, mules) is very often used in organic farming, and can also be used for conventional operations, so that there is no need to bring in motorised tools, reducing fuel and oil costs for the users.
  • Much easier on seedlings which are often damaged by motorised engines, the use of horses leads to substantial savings in replacement costs, most particularly in “old vines”.
  • In vineyards that have only ever been worked using animal traction, the first harvest can take place two years earlier, thus improving the profitability of those plots.

Depending on the region, the pricing of the service providers ranges from €35 to €65 per hour before tax.

Some people prefer to be paid by the surface that is worked rather than by the hour.

The Social Aspect

Work using animal traction is generally carried out in “human-scale” wineries with small acreage and a concern for respecting horses, people and the land. The pace of the horse slows down man, forces him to take his time, and to adapt himself to the land.

Using animals instead of machines changes the perception of work, with the horse becoming a work partner rather than a simple work tool.

Wine-growers often praise the return of silence, the smells, the rustle of the soil as it opens up, the clinking of the tools on the hitch.

The wonderful relationship between people and horses manifests itself in the emotion we all feel when we have the opportunity to get close to a horse or to hear a story related to them.

A Few Statistics

Animals eliminate soil compaction, which leads to a biological activity ratio for the soil of 40%, with very little reliance on water due to the quality of the soil.

Some examples of work done using animal traction (to be adapted depending on the nature of the soil and the topography.


Work Time per hectare Work Definition Tools Used
Autumn Ploughing 12 to 22 h Earthing Up Vineyard Plough
Spring Ploughing 12 to 22 h Earthing Down Vineyard Plough
Ploughing Down 6 to 8 h Weeding Under the Rows Weeder
Hoeing 3 to 8 h Depending on Grass growth Trackin0g Scarifier/Hoe
Tilling 5 to 10 h Combing Cultivator, Toothed Harrow
Harvest 5 h Crate Pick-Up Cart
Tendrils 4 to 6 h Seedling Swaths Rake


For More information about : Wine-growing with horses

Téléchargez le dépliant

Viticulture au cheval

Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

C’est l’ensemble des techniques permettant de cultiver la vigne à l’aide d’un cheval.

Les intérêts de la viticulture à cheval

Le principal intérêt de cette technique réside dans la grande précision du travail effectué, au cours duquel chaque rangée et chaque cep de vigne sont traités de façon quasi individuelle. Les labours au cheval dans les vignes trouvent ensuite leur intérêt dans la pérennité des sols pour la valorisation des terroirs, et dans l’intervention sur des parcelles où il est difficile d’accéder avec un  tracteur (parcelle en terrasse ou très pentue par exemple).

ChâteauLatour. NUM047

© JL. Dugast – Château Latour

Sur le plan agronomique

La plus grosse contrainte des travaux du sol par traction mécanisée sont les phénomènes de tassement. Plus un sol est aéré, plus il souffre du tassement. Les fers à labourer montés sur les enjambeurs motorisés se trouvent généralement derrière les roues avant, juste devant les roues arrière. Le travail est certes de qualité, mais il est aussitôt dégradé par le passage de la roue arrière de l’engin. Il provoque alors une « semelle » très compacte. Des dents placées derrière cette roue tentent de rattraper le tassement occasionné par ce passage, mais leur efficacité n’est pas totale.

Cette semelle de labour induit plusieurs inconvénients :

  • Elle agit comme un rempart qui ralentit la biologie des sols. Les lombrics, par exemple, ne peuvent plus remonter en surface chercher la matière organique qu’ils dégradent et  mélangent à la terre, améliorant ainsi la structure du sol. Immobilisés en profondeur, ils finissent par mourir.
  • Il en est de même pour les éléments minéraux qui peinent à atteindre la plante. dont le  système racinaire est par ailleurs asphyxié. Les racines cherchent alors à remonter vers la surface pour survivre, en délaissant les éléments nutritifs propres au terroir, issus de la partie profonde des sols.
  • Enfin, la terre meuble située au-dessus de la semelle de labour souffre d’érosion.

Le travail au cheval permet donc d’éviter la mise en place de cette semelle de labour. Et, s’il est vrai que la pression exercé sur le sol par un cheval en action est supérieure (au centimètre carré) à celle d’un tracteur, sa surface d’appui est quasi nulle. De plus l’outil de labour est placé derrière l’animal, ce qui permet de corriger immédiatement le tassement engendré par son passage.

La vie biologique, chimique et physique des sols est réactivée. Le potentiel agronomique du sol est mieux exploité.

Avec une structure aérée, le ruissellement des excès de pluie est limité. Le sol est préparé à une meilleure infiltration de l’eau, ce qui permet de constituer des réserves en profondeur.

Enfin, le travail du sol par le cheval crée une structure de sol beaucoup plus adaptée à la santé de la vigne dont le système racinaire pénètre en profondeur. Son alimentation en eau est meilleure. La vigne est plus vigoureuse.

Sur le plan économique

  • Le cheval permet au vigneron de ne pas utiliser de désherbants chimiques. En effet, grâce à des outils « inter cep » montés sur les charrues, le désherbage complet du sol est mécanique, même entre les pieds de vigne.
  • Le labour équin (chevaux, mulets), très souvent pratiqué en exploitation biologique, est également utilisé en conduite conventionnelle. Il évite de sortir des outils motorisés, diminuant ainsi les charges en carburant et en lubrifiant de ses utilisateurs.
  • Beaucoup plus respectueux des plants, régulièrement endommagés par les engins motorisés, le travail au cheval permet de substantielles économies sur leur remplacement,  tout particulièrement dans les « vieilles » vignes.
  • Dans les vignes travaillées depuis l’origine uniquement en traction animale, la première récolte peut être faite deux ans plus tôt, améliorant ainsi la rentabilité des parcelles concernées.

Selon les régions, le tarif des prestataires varie entre 35 € HT/h à 65€ HT/h.

Certains préfèrent être rémunérés à la surface travaillée plutôt qu’à l’heure.

Sur le plan social

Les travaux réalisés en traction animale se font généralement sur des domaines viticoles de petite surface à « taille humaine », et avec le souci de respecter le Cheval, l’Homme et la Terre. Le pas du cheval ralentit l’homme, l’oblige à prendre son temps, à s’adapter à la terre.

La substitution de l’animal à la machine modifie le rapport au travail, le cheval devient un compagnon de labeur plus qu’un outil.
Les vignerons vantent souvent le silence retrouvé, les odeurs, le froissement de la terre qui s’ouvre, le tintement des outils sur l’attelage.

La formidable relation  entre l’Homme et le Cheval se traduit par l’émotion que tout un chacun ressent quand il a l’occasion d’approcher un cheval ou d’écouter une anecdote liée à ce quadrupède.

Quelques chiffres

L’animal permet de supprimer les problèmes de tassement du sol, ce qui entraîne un taux d’activité biologique des sols supérieur de 40%, avec une dépendance très faible en eau du fait de la qualité des sols.

Exemples de temps de travail en traction animale (à adapter suivant nature du sol et parcours techniques) :

Temps travail/ha Définition du travail Outils utilisés
Labour d’automne 12 à 22h Chaussage Charrue vigneronne
Labour de printemps 12 à 22h Déchaussage Charrue vigneronne
Décavaillonnage 6 à 8h Désherbage sous le rang Décavaillonneuse
Binage 3 à 8h Selon repousse de l’herbe Scarificateur doigts bineurs
Cultivateur 5 à 10h Griffage Cultivateur, Canadien
Vendanges 5h Ramassage caissettes Charette
Sarments 4 à 6h Andin saments Andaineur

En savoir plus sur : Viticulture au cheval