Pottok

Origins/Breeding Area:

SFET PottokThe Pottok has made its home in the Basque country for thousands of years.

Crossing, a million years ago, from North America over the natural bridge that existed between Alaska and Siberia, horses close to the Przewalski’s horses first settled in Asia and them migrated to Europe, whilst totally disappearing from North America.

Horses settled in the mountains of the Basque country and survived the highly perturbed weather patterns of the last ice ages and the end of the Quaternary Period. The prehistoric discoveries in the grottoes of Sare, Oxocelhaya and Isturitz depict a type of horse close to the present day Pottok. Its morphology, naturally, has evolved with ecological and historical influences, but no-one will dispute the fact that the Pottok, after so many years clinging to these mountains, is a primitive local breed.

The Basque people were wise enough not to decimate the herds of small horses, as happened in so many their places. On the contrary, they made use of them which was easy enough as the Pottok did not require any particular care. All they had to do was to go to the mountains to bring back the year’s crop, mostly destined for the meat market.

In the 19th century, they were used in the region’s mines, but also in those of northern and eastern France, as they were small, robust and had few needs. The Pottok is part of Basque culture and was used a great deal for contraband between France and Spain. The handsome piebald horses were the stuff of many children’s dreams as they paraded in circuses. Nowadays, each Pottok has an owner, and it is a tradition among breeders to give each child a filly which will turn into a little nest egg.

The horses live freely in herds of about twenty mares with a handsome stallion, on the slopes of the Rhune, Artzamendi, Baïgura and Ursuya massifs, where they contribute to the upkeep of the mountains. Others are raised in prairies and are meant for sports and leisure use.

The cradle of the Pottok breed is limited to the cantons of the Pyrénées-Atlantiques, from Anglet north and south, Aramits, Bayonne north, west and east, Biarritz east and west, Bidache, Espelette, Hasparren, Hendaye, Iholdy, La Bastide Clairence, Mauléon, Saint-Étienne-de-Baïgorry, Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, Saint-Palais, Saint-Pierre-d’Irube, Tardets, and Ustaritz.

Recognition:

The Pottok breed was recognised in 1972.

Number of Births:

In 2016: 362 births

In 2015: 384 births

In 2014: 396 births

In 2013: 365 births

In 2012: 433 births

Standard:

© ANR pottok

The stud book is divided into two books: Book A for pure-bred horses and Book B for cross-bred horses

The Pottoks from Book A are the Pottoks that roam freely across the mountainous areas of Rhune, Baigura, Ursuya and Artza Mendi at least nine months a year, in herds made up of mares, foals and a stallion, are considered to be Mountain Pottoks. The other type of Pottok is the Prairie Pottok.

Size:

Mountain Pottok: From 1.15m (11.1h) to 1.31m (13.0h)

Prairie Pottok: 1.15m (11.1h) to 1.47m (14.2h)

Colour:

The coat can be bay, black, chestnut and all varieties of piebald made up of a combination of the colours cited previously.

Abilities

 A very hardy pony, originally from the mountains of the Basque country. Docile and generous, suited to equestrian disciplines or free run breeding.

 

Uses

Sociable by nature, the Pottok likes to be with people. It is a good horse for outdoor riding and trekking, particularly in mountainous areas, due its sure-footedness and resistance.

It is recommended for equestrian leisure activities, and has often distinguished itself in three-day eventing, dressage and driving, having won French championship titles several times.

Its qualities as a teaching pony, being attentive and docile, hardy and tough, make this small horse better and better liked.

The Pottok is also excellent as an ecological regulator of mountainous landscapes and wooded areas. Its hardiness makes it possible for it to live in herds of more than ten mares and a stallion with little interference from man.

 

Sources: IFCE, National Breed Organisation, Federation of Regional Horse Breeds

For More information about : Pottok

National Breed organisation:

Association Nationale du Pottok

« Maison Piarrestea »

64640 Hélette

FRANCE

Tel. +33 (0)6 03 29 13 11

Website : http://anr-terr-pottok.web-anr.net (French only)

Pottok

Origine / zone d’élevage :

SFET PottokLe pottok est installé depuis des millénaires au Pays Basque.

Provenant, il y a un million d’années, d’Amérique du Nord, passant par le pont naturel réunissant alors l’Alaska et la Sibérie, le cheval proche de celui de Prevalski s’établit d’abord en Asie puis émigre en Europe, alors qu’il disparaît complètement en Amérique.

Il s’installe dans les montagnes du Pays Basque et résiste au climat très perturbé des dernières glaciations de la fin du quaternaire. Les découvertes préhistoriques faites dans les grottes de Sare, d’Oxocelhaya, d’Isturitz, représentent des chevaux d’un type proche du pottok actuel. Naturellement sa morphologie a évolué avec les conditions écologiques et historiques, mais personne ne conteste le fait que le pottok, après tant d’années accroché à nos montagnes, constitue une race primitive locale.

Les Basques eurent la sagesse de ne pas décimer les troupeaux de petits chevaux, comme cela se passa dans beaucoup d’autres régions ; au contraire ils l’exploitèrent avec d’autant plus de facilité que le pottok ne demandait aucun soin particulier : il suffisait de venir chercher dans la montagne les produits de l’année, généralement destinés à la boucherie.

Au XIXe siècle, on l’utilisait dans les mines de la région mais aussi dans celles du Nord et de l’Est de la France, car de petite taille, robuste et peu exigeant. Il fait partie de la culture basque et fût très utilisé dans la contrebande entre France et Espagne. Il fit rêver beaucoup d’enfants, lorsqu’il paradait dans les cirques avec sa belle robe pie. Aujourd’hui, chaque pottok a son propriétaire et il est de tradition chez les éleveurs de donner au petit enfant une pouliche, qui procurera par la suite un petit pécule.

Ils vivent librement en horde d’une vingtaine de juments accompagnées de leur bel étalon sur les versants des massifs de la Rhune, de l’Artzamendi, du Baïgura et de l’Ursuya où ils participent à l’entretien de la montagne. D’autres sont élevés en prairie, destinés aux activités sportives et de loisirs.

Le berceau de race du pottok est limité aux cantons des Pyrénées-Atlantiques de Anglet Nord et Sud, Aramits, Bayonne Nord, Ouest et Est, Biarritz Est et Ouest, Bidache, Espelette, Hasparren, Hendaye, Iholdy, La Bastide Clairence, Mauléon, Saint-Étienne-de-Baïgorry, Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, Saint-Palais, Saint-Pierre-d’Irube, Tardets, Ustaritz.

Reconnaissance :

La race poney pottok a été reconnue en 1972.

Nombre de naissances :

En 2014 : 396 naissances
En 2013 : 365 naissances
En 2012 : 433 naissances
En 2011 : 448 naissances
En 2010 : 351 naissances

Standard :

© ANR pottok

Le stud-book comprend 2 livres : le livre A pour les animaux de race pure et le livre B pour les animaux issus de croisement.

Sont considérés comme pottok de montagne, les pottok du livre A vivant en libre parcours dans les massifs montagneux de la Rhune, Baigura, Ursuya, Artza Mendi, neuf mois minimum par an au sein d’un troupeau comportant juments, pouliches et étalon. L’autre type de pottok est le pottok de prairie.

Taille :

Pottok de montagne : de 1,15 à 1,32m.

Pottok de prairie : de 1,15 à 1,47m.

Robe :

De robe baie, noire et alezane ainsi que toutes les variétés de pie composées d’une ou plusieurs des robes citées précédemment.

Aptitudes :

Poney très rustique, originaire des montagnes du Pays Basque, docile et généreux, apte aux disciplines équestres ou à l’élevage en libre parcours.

Utilisations :

Sociable par nature, le pottok aime la compagnie de l’homme, il est apprécié dans les promenades équestres, les randonnées en particulier en montagne pour son pas sûr et sa grande résistance.

Il est recommandé pour les loisirs équestres et s’est d’ailleurs souvent distingué en concours complet d’équitation, dressage et à l’attelage en remportant plusieurs titres de champion de France.

Ses qualités de poney d’instruction, attentif et docile, rustique et endurant, font apprécier chaque jour davantage ce petit cheval.

Le pottok est aussi un excellent régulateur écologique des paysages de montagne et des régions boisées. Sa rusticité lui permet de rester en troupeau d‘une dizaine de juments et d’un étalon avec peu d’interventions de l’homme.

Pottok, le petit cheval du Pays basque from Equidés & Télé on Vimeo.

Sources : IFCE, Association nationale de Race, Fédération des Chevaux de Territoire.

En savoir plus sur : Pottok

Association nationale de race :

Association Nationale du Pottok

« Maison Piarrestea »

64640 Hélette

Tel. 06 03 29 13 11

Site web http://anr-terr-pottok.web-anr.net