Percheron

Origins/Breeding Area:

SFET PercheronThe origins of the Percheron horse go way back and the breed seems strongly influenced by oriental blood, with that influence dating back to the 8th century. It was actually said that the Percheron horse was an “Arab made bigger by the climate and the hardiness of the work it has been required to do for centuries”.

The “Perche of Good Horses” lies between Mortagne (Orne prefecture) and La Ferté Bernard (Sarthe prefecture) and is located south of Normandy at the limits of the Orne, Eure et Loir, Loir et Cher and Sarthe departments. The centre of this region is the Valley of the Huisne, a small river that runs through Nogent le Rotrou, the capital of the Percheron horse.

The breeding of Percheron horses extended beyond the regions of Le Pin, Angers and Blois since there are Percherons in many areas of France, as well as in many countries (United States, Japan, Germany, Argentina, Great Britain) to which destinations exports are ongoing.

Recognition:

The Percheron breed was recognised in 1883.

Number of Births:

In 2016: 790 births

In 2015: 805 births

In 2014: 932 births

In 2013: 1011 births

In 2012: 1114 births

Standard:

There are two types of Percheron nowadays: the heavy draft and the “Diligencier” coach horse, which brings added value to the breed

Size:

Between 1.60m and1.85m (15.3h and 18.1h)at the Withers

Colour:

In France, only black and grey, and all shades of these, are acceptable.

Abilities:

The Percheron is noted for its power and its ability to pull heavy weights at speed. It is easy to train and of good disposition.

Uses:

The Percheron is a wonderful draft horse that is capable of intense effort. It is an excellent partner in agriculture (in particular logging), commercial driving, and, above all else, as a leisure horse.

More and more municipalities use it for urban work. Its strength and pace are valued in sports driving.

Sources: IFCE, National Breed Organisation

For More information about : Percheron

National Breed organisation : SHPF

Société Hippique Percheronne de France

4, Rue Rémy Belleau

28400 Nogent le Rotrou

Tel. : 02 37 52 00 43

Site web http://www.percheron-france.org/ (French only)

Percheron

Origine / zone d’élevage : 

SFET PercheronLes origines du percheron semblent lointaines et en touT cas, apparemment fortement imprégnées de sang oriental, dont l’influence se fait sentir dès le VIIIe siècle. Des étalons arabes furent introduits à plusieurs reprises, ce qui fit dire que le percheron est un « arabe grossi par le climat et la rusticité des services auxquels il a été employé depuis des siècles ».

Le « perche aux bons chevaux », entre Mortagne (Orne) et la Ferté Bernard (Sarthe), se situe au sud de la Normandie, aux confins de l’Orne, de l’Eure, de l’Eure et Loir, du Loir et Cher et de la Sarthe. Cette région a pour centre la vallée de l’Huisne, petite rivière qui arrose la capitale du percheron, Nogent le Rotrou.
L’élevage de la race s’est répandu en dehors des régions du Pin, d’Angers et de Blois, puisqu’on trouve des percherons dans de très nombreuses régions de France, ainsi que dans de nombreux pays étrangers (Etats-Unis, Japon, Allemagne, Argentine, Grande-Bretagne,…) où il continue d’être exporté.

Reconnaissance : 

La race trait percheron a été reconnue en 1883.

Nombre de naissances : 

En 2014 : 932 naissances
En 2013 : 1011 naissances
En 2012 : 1114 naissances
En 2011 : 1146 naissances
En 2010 : 1241 naissances

Standard :

Deux types de percherons se côtoient aujourd’hui : le trait et le diligencier, ce qui en fait une des richesses de la race.

Taille : 

Entre 1m 60 et 1m 85.

Robe : 

En France, seules les robes noires et grises, dans toutes les nuances, sont acceptées.

Aptitudes : 

Le percheron se caractérise par sa puissance et sa capacité à tirer vite de gros poids, il est d’un emploi facile et d’un tempérament généreux.

Utilisations : 

Le percheron est un merveilleux cheval de trait capable d’efforts intenses. C’est un excellent compagnon pour l’agriculture (débardage notamment), l’attelage dit « publicitaire » et surtout de loisirs.

De plus en plus de collectivités l’utilisent pour des travaux urbains. Sa force et ses allures sont appréciées pour l’attelage sportif.


Sources : IFCE, Association nationale de Race.

En savoir plus sur : Percheron

Association Nationale de Race : SHPF Société Hippique Percheronne de France 4, Rue Rémy Belleau 28400 Nogent le Rotrou Tel. : 02 37 52 00 43 Site web :http://www.percheron-france.org/