Horse as a facilitator

What is this?

In therapy, the horse is a living facilitator between the patient and the therapist or trainer. Its presence is calming, brings up emotions, reactions, questions, and facilitates dialogue. It is an excellent ally for the therapist and trainer.

Equitherapy is the use of horses, ponies or donkeys with patients who face psychological, psychosocial, mental, behavioural and/or physical difficulties. It can be used with many people of various ages and suffering from very different handicaps or difficulties.

Foundation of Activities Using Horses as Facilitators

Ulysse - APYThe horse exists in all civilisations as well as within the memory of all peoples. It is imbued in mystery, linked trough mythology to the natural elements, and harks back to very deeply set cultural tenets. The horse represents strength, power and speed but also freedom and free will. It carries our imagination to the places that have made up our landmarks as adults. This mythical aspect is necessary to forge any human being, and is an integral part of people’s development.

The horse has always walked by man’s side, serving him. Linked with man’s evolution, the horse has in turn been a means of transport, a means of war, a means of work, with this symbiosis being based on the relationship between man and horse.

What the horse has brought humanity has been acknowledged since ancient times. Already, in the 5th century BC, the philosopher Xenophon had grasped the interaction between man and horse: “The horse is a good master, not just for the body but also for the spirit and the heart”.

© E. Rousseaux

© E. Rousseaux – Trait poitevin

In his 1751 encyclopaedia, Diderot also praised horsemanship, stressing that its practice was the best possible means of strengthening weak health.

Horse therapy first saw the light in Norway and Denmark in 1943, but it did not reach France until 1962 when a physiotherapist, Hubert Lally, tried rehab using horses for the first time.

These activities, which have been developed internationally and across continents, are seeing ever greater use in France in areas as diverse as education, care, sports and leisure. They are very widely used with groups that have difficulties integrating, within hospital groups (mainly psychiatry, child psychiatry, and rehab) or medico-social welfare).

Both nationally and internationally, these practices can be characterised through four aspects:

  • The therapeutic aspect, known as equitherapy, meets and follows a care-related protocol. This is most often remedial, both physically (functional rehab) and psychologically (psychotherapeutic). It can be carried out on a ridden horse or not, generally on a one-to-one basis, in connection and with reference to an inter-disciplinary support project put in place by the person concerned. Examples would include learning to walk again, spinal and back rehab, and psychotherapy.
  • In terms of specialised education, such practices are part of individual support projects in environments related to medico-social welfare or juvenile delinquency, such as child protection services or integration. These activities, through or with horses, provide support to bring to fruition rehab projects. The horse and its environment become the facilitators within the educational activities. Examples include learning and applying rules and the law, regaining self-confidence, and understanding how to relate to others.
  • The integration aspect can be either social or professional:

– Social: In this case, the horse has a special position with regard to certain people, most often in relation to locations or places where they are on an ongoing basis. It paces throughout the year the daily life of the troubled, unwell or handicapped person. In such cases, the horse can actually be put to work or not. Examples include breeding, driving, hacking etc.

– Professional: This works through professional integration in the trades that are either closely or distantly linked to horses. The young people and adults drawn to it are strongly committed. These, like all situations leading to work, relevant or not, require a commitment, work-linked training, a follow-up, and mentoring.


  • The sports and leisure aspect is the one that best represents current equestrian and horse-riding related practices, and is adapted to the wide range of practicing audiences. It targets equestrian-related learning and skillsets with the goal of developing a physical and leisure activity which brings to people the qualities of any sport, relaxation or leisure-related activity. Of special note within these activities is non-riding activities such driving which is more accessible and more of a group activity.

The Horse as a Therapeutic Tool

© E. Rousseaux

© E. Rousseaux

The aim of equithereapy is not strictly to improve horsemanship, but the relationship with the horse, which will act as the driving force of the therapy.

The advantage of working to a therapeutic end with horses comes from them being living beings with their own mind, warm and soft creatures that bring value socially and are well-adapted. They can both carry and transport but, above all, they are non-judgmental and non-intrusive, willing to accept projection, open to old-fashioned dialogue, and worthy of interest and care.

All of these qualities make the horse into a facilitator, not a therapist, one who works with the therapist to open up opportunities, and to lead to improvement in a physical, psychological or unease-related condition.

Horses make excellent companions that stimulate motivation and communication, improving sensory perception, self-image and self-expression. They make people open-up, come out of their shells, integrate into various foreign environments, and to go beyond their daily limitations.

For some people, horses are an amazing tool for integration. It is by using a horse, and through the environment that surrounds this, that the means to rehabilitation, autonomy and integration can be perceived.

As of today, several therapy options are on offer:

Psychotherapy which is based on psychoanalytical reflection (mainly Winnicott and the Holding concept).

Motor or sensitive rehab which is tested by physiotherapists who use horses as a support mechanism for functional rehab (proprioceptive rehab, coordination etc.).

As “educational facilitators” where horses partner educators on projects involving socialisation, upgrading, and regulating behaviour.

Equitherapy: For Whom?

© IFCE - Comtois

© IFCE – Comtois

This kind of therapy is for people suffering from:

  • Neuromotor conditions (such as multiple sclerosis, partial or full paralysis)
  • Cognitive conditions (intellectual deficiency)
  • Emotional, sociological or psychological disorders (in particular autism)
  • Sensory conditions

Equitherapy: By Whom?

This type of therapy is carried out by professionals.

On the one hand, there are paramedical professionals (trainers, specialist instructors, physicians, physiotherapists, psychomotor specialists, psychologists, nurses etc.), and on the other equestrian specialists.



Source : Yves Decavelle

For More information about : Horse as a facilitator


Consultez également notre page Médiation équine en milieu carcéral

Anes et chevaux médiateurs

Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

En thérapie, le cheval est le médiateur vivant de la relation entre le patient et le thérapeute ou l’éducateur. Sa présence apaise, suscite des émotions, des réactions, des interrogations, et facilite les échanges. Il est un excellent allié de l’éducateur et du thérapeute.

La thérapie avec le cheval (TAC) est l’utilisation de chevaux, de poneys ou d’ânes avec des patients ayant des difficultés psychologiques, psychosociales, mentales, comportementales et/ou physiques. Elle peut s’adresser à de nombreuses personnes d’âge variable, souffrant de handicaps ou de difficultés très diverses.

Fondement des activités de médiation avec le cheval

Ulysse - APYLe cheval est présent dans toutes les civilisations ainsi que dans la mémoire des peuples. Il est chargé de mystère, rattaché par la mythologie aux éléments naturels et fait référence à des notions culturelles très profondément intériorisées. Le cheval est symbole de force, de puissance et de rapidité mais aussi de liberté et de pouvoir. Il porte notre imaginaire vers des contrées qui ont participé à l’organisation de nos repères d’adultes. Cette fonction mythique est nécessaire à la construction de tout homme, elle fait partie intégrante du développement.

Le cheval a toujours été aux côtés de l’homme, à son service. Associé à son évolution, il s’est fait tour à tour moyen de transport, moyen de guerre, moyen de travail, cette symbiose ayant pour base la relation entre l’homme et le cheval.

Les apports du cheval à l’être humain sont connus depuis l’Antiquité.  Déjà au Ve siècle avant J.C, le philosophe Xénophon avait compris l’interaction entre le cheval et l’homme : « Le cheval est un bon maitre non seulement pour le corps mais aussi pour l’esprit et pour le cœur ».

© E. Rousseaux

© E. Rousseaux – Trait poitevin

En 1751, Diderot dans son encyclopédie faisait également l’éloge de l’équitation affirmant que sa pratique était le moyen le plus sûr de consolider une santé chancelante.

L’émergence de l’équitation thérapeutique nous vient de Norvège et du Danemark en 1943, mais il faudra attendre 1962 pour voir apparaître en France, avec Hubert Lallery, kinésithérapeute, la première expérience de rééducation par l’équitation.

Développées sur le plan international et sur tous les continents, ces activités font l’objet sur notre territoire de pratiques de plus en plus utilisées dans les secteurs aussi divers que l’éducation, les soins, le sport et les loisirs. Elles sont très largement utilisées à destination des publics en difficulté d’insertion, de structures hospitalières (psychiatriques, pédopsychiatriques et de rééducation principalement), ou médico-socio-éducatives.

Sur le plan national et international ces pratiques peuvent se caractériser selon quatre aspects :

  • L’aspect thérapeutique, ou hippothérapie, répond et suit un protocole relevant des domaines du soin. Le plus souvent réparatrices, tant sur le plan physique (rééducation fonctionnelle) que psychique (psychothérapeutique),  ces pratiques peuvent être utilisées sur un cheval monté ou non, le plus fréquemment individuellement, en lien et en référence au projet d’accompagnement interdisciplinaire, élaboré et mis en place pour la personne concernée. Exemples : réadaptation à la marche, rééducation de la colonne vertébrale et du dos, psychothérapie…
  • En ce qui concerne l’éducation spécialisée, ces pratiques participent aux projets individuels d’accompagnement dans les milieux relevant des prises en charge médico-socio-éducatives ou de celles qui sont mises en œuvre auprès des mineurs en difficulté, de type protection de l’enfance ou public en insertion. Ces activités, par, ou avec, le cheval, sont dans ce cas le support de la réalisation des objectifs de réhabilitation. Le cheval et son milieu environnemental deviennent alors le médiateur de l’action pédagogique. Exemples : acquisition et intégration des règles et de la loi, réapprentissage de la confiance en soi, compréhension des rapports à l’autre.
  • L’aspect insertion peut être de deux natures :
    • Sociale : le cheval a ici une place privilégiée auprès de certaines personnes le plus souvent relevant de foyer et de lieux de vie où le cheval a une présence quotidienne. Il rythme au fil de l’année la vie de la personne en difficulté, en souffrance ou handicapée. Le cheval dans ce cas peut, ou non, faire l’objet d’une utilisation. Exemples : élevage, attelage, promenade, etc…
    • Professionnelle : ses modalités d’actions relèvent de l’insertion professionnelle au sein des métiers liés de près ou de loin au cheval. Ils génèrent une forte adhésion des jeunes et des adultes qui souhaitent s’y destiner. Elles passent, comme pour toutes les situations de mise au travail adapté ou non, par un positionnement, une formation par alternance, un suivi et un parrainage d’insertion.
  • L’aspect  sport loisir est le plus représentatif des pratiques équestres et de l’équitation actuelle moderne, qui sont adaptées à la diversité des publics pratiquants. Elles visent des apprentissages et acquisitions équestres  dans le but de développer une activité physique et de loisirs, qui apporte à la personne les qualités de toute activité de sport, détente et loisirs pour tous. A noter dans ces activités la particularité des pratiques non montées telles que l’attelage qui offre une accessibilité à tous et une pratique plus collective.

Le cheval, outil thérapeutique

© E. Rousseaux

© E. Rousseaux

L’objectif de la thérapie avec le cheval  n’est pas la  progression équestre au sens strict mais la relation avec le cheval qui sera le moteur de l’apport thérapeutique.

L’intérêt des séances à visée thérapeutique avec le cheval s’explique par ses qualités en tant qu’être vivant ayant un appareil psychique propre, c’est un être doux et chaud, socialement valorisant et adapté. Susceptible de porter et de transporter, il est surtout non jugeant et non intrusif, apte à accepter les projections, apte au dialogue sur un mode archaïque, digne d’intérêt et de soin.

Ces qualités ne font pas du cheval un thérapeute, mais bien un médiateur qui, faisant lien avec un thérapeute, sera en mesure d’ouvrir des opportunités, et de rendre possible l’amélioration d’une pathologie physique, psychique ou d’un mal-être.

Le cheval est un excellent compagnon stimulant la motivation et la communication, améliorant les perceptions sensorielles, l’image de soi et l’expression. Il permet à l’individu de s’épanouir, de sortir de lui-même, de s’intégrer dans un environnement qui n’est pas le sien, de sortir de ses limites quotidiennes.

Le cheval devient pour certains un fabuleux moyen d’insertion. C’est dans l’utilisation du cheval, de son milieu environnant, que l’on peut voir un moyen de réhabilitation, d’autonomie et d’intégration.

Plusieurs options thérapeutiques sont à ce jour mises en œuvre :

La psychothérapie avec pour base les réflexions psychanalytiques (principalement Winnicott et le concept du Holding),

La rééducation motrice ou sensitive est expérimentée par les kinésithérapeutes utilisant le cheval comme support à la rééducation fonctionnelle (rééducation proprioceptive, coordination etc.)

Le « médiateur éducatif » avec un cheval partenaire des éducateurs pour des projets de socialisation, de revalorisation, de régulation du comportement.

La thérapie avec le cheval pour qui ?

© IFCE - Comtois

© IFCE – Comtois

Ce type de thérapie s’adresse aux personnes atteintes :

  • de pathologies neuromotrices (sclérose en plaques, hémiplégique, paraplégie par exemple) ;
  • de pathologies cognitives (déficiences intellectuelles) ;
  • de pathologies affectives et sociologiques, psychiques (autisme notamment) ;
  • de pathologies sensitives.

La thérapie avec le cheval par qui ?

Ce type de thérapie se pratique sous la responsabilité de professionnels.

D’une part : paramédicaux  (éducateurs, instituteurs spécialisés, médecins, kinésithérapeutes, psychomotriciens, psychologues, infirmiers, etc..) et d’autre part : équestres.

Source : Yves Decavelle

En savoir plus sur : Anes et chevaux médiateurs