What is this ?

Mare’s milk is the milk produced by mares to feed foals during the first six months following their birth.

Jenny’s milk is the milk produced by jennies (female donkeys) to feed their young during the first six months following their birth.

A Little History



Mare’s milk and jenny’s milk have been used for millennia, both for their nutritional benefits ad their cosmetic qualities.

Throughout history, a number of famous people have sung the praises of this type of milk. Cleopatra, among others, bathed in this precious milk. Aristotle, Hippocrates and other dieticians and physicians of antiquity recommended it to treat poisoning and war wounds….

The long life expectancy and vigour of the Mongols who consume large quantities of mare’s milk have led representatives of Russian medicine to use it for therapeutic ends.

During the 19th century, mare’s milk was used as a substitute for mother’s milk. Very easy to digest, it also helped those who suffered from cirrhosis, stomach ulcers, gastric and chronic intestinal pain, constipation, and various problems tied to the gallbladder ad pancreas.

As an extension of these practices, mare’s and jenny’s milk were given to new-borns at the Saint-Vincent-de-Paul hospital in Paris, and at its maternity wards (Libourne, Le Mans, etc.) until the mid-1950s.

It is also during this period that German and Finish doctors showed the similarity between mare’s milk and maternal milk, thus justifying its use as a maternal milk substitute since it guaranteed a better absorption than other types of milk.

Mare’s Milk for Nutrition

The composition of mare’s milk is similar to maternal milk. Both mares and women have single stomachs, with a digestive system that is much less developed than that of ruminants (cattle, goats, sheep etc.) which have a two-stomach system that leads to the oxidation of polyunsaturated fatty acids and Vitamin D. In the mare, the digestive process returns the unsaturated fatty acids and vitamins that are richly present in the fodder.

Mare’s milk is a natural source of calcium. Its calcium levels are 2-3 times higher than maternal milk.

It is astonishing how closely the composition of mare’s milk resembles that of maternal milk. It is rich in essential vitamins (A, D, E, C, K, B6, B12, B1-2-35), Oligo Elements (iron, zinc, copper, manganese) and minerals (calcium, phosphorus, sodium, magnesium). Its fat content is lower than either cow’s milk or maternal milk.

In addition, the fact that it is low in casein (a protein) makes it very well tolerated by people who are allergic to the proteins in cow’s milk.

Mare’s milk is naturally very rich in anti-oxidant vitamin C. Vitamin C helps the workings of the immune system and plays a role in the absorption of iron.

It also contains lysozyme, an enzyme that has an anti-microbial property.

© JL - Dugast - Traite jument Trait du Nord - Chevalait

© JL – Dugast – Traite jument Trait du Nord – Chevalait

Advantages and properties of the ingredients in mare’s milk on health

Mare’s milk can play an important part in the immune system due to some of its principal ingredients.

Mare’s milk owes its properties for preventing anaemia to its high levels of iron which are associated with the presence of the protein lactoferrin (LF), also known as lactotransferrin (TLF), which has the property of fixing this Oligo Element and carrying it through the bloodstream (Franco-Rodriguez et al, 2008).

In the absence of clinical studies on the qualities of mare’s milk, these still needing to be put in place, numerous observations indicate that it can be significantly helpful in aiding recovery after chemotherapy treatments for which it appears to reduce side-effects.

For digestive ailments, mare’s milk can help to improve certain problems by acting as a probiotic. In addition, it would seem that the anti-inflammatory properties of mare’s milk can reduce the intestinal inflammation caused by Crohn’s Disease.

Due to its high proportion of vitamins, minerals, fatty acids (Omega 3 and Omega 6) and amino-acids, mare’s milk has been shown to help people suffering from depression as well as problems such as stress and anxiety (Csapó et al. 1995, Malacarne et al. 2002, Haddad et al. 2011).

Mare’s milk plays a major role in facilitating the absorption of certain components needed by the organism, such as calcium which is better assimilated as it is provided jointly with vitamin D, lactose and oestrogens. Consequently, for a diet that meets the needs of the body in calcium, among other nutrients, mare’s milk can play a part in preventing conditions such as hypertension. (Hernandez et al. 1999).

Mare’s Milk in Cosmetics

The presence of lactoferrin (LF) would appear to give mare’s milk moisturising properties, as well as regenerating properties, thus helping to slow down the aging of the skin.

Due to its anti-bacterial make-up, mare’s milk would also be beneficial for skins liable to acne; it also help in treating more significant skin complaints such as eczema and psoriasis, due to its healing properties.

 Jenny’s Milk for Nutrition

Jenny’s milk was used in the 19th century an through the early years of the 20th century as a substitute for maternal milk. Jenny’s milk is still regularly recommended as a substitute for cow’s milk for children who show an allergy to the proteins in cow’s milk.

In ancient times, Hippocrates used to prescribe jenny’s milk for a variety of medicinal uses.

Just like mare’s milk, jenny’s milk is very close to maternal milk in that it is highly digestible as it has no clotting casein and a low fat content. Asses milk brings vitamins (A, B1, B2, B6, D. C, E) and minerals and Oligo Elements (calcium, magnesium, phosphorus, sodium, iron, zinc…), bio-stimulants (immunoglobulins), and alkylglycerols which are active in the immune response.

Advantages and properties of the ingredients in jenny’s milk on health

It is suitable for babies who are severely allergic to the protein in cow’s milk, as well as babies who suffer from digestive problems.

It strengthens natural defences and helps fight stress. Its enzymes regenerate intestinal flora. It improves intestinal transit and favours the detoxification of the liver.

Jenny’s Milk and Crohn’s Disease


© ANR ânes et mulets des Pyrénées

Lysozyme-rich asses’ milk has been tested on mice where it shows anti-inflammatory properties by compensating for the endogenic deficiency in antimicrobial peptides seen in ileitis, and by reducing dysfunctions in intestinal flora. This study makes it possible to put forward jenny’s milk as part of a back-up therapeutic strategy aimed at increasing the periods of remission in Crohn’s Disease (Yvon et al. 2014).

Jenny’s Milk in Cosmetic usage

Pliny the Elder recommended jenny’s milk in his Natural History for all kinds of ailment, most particularly to fortify those in convalescence, as well as for care of the skin, to fend off wrinkles, and for lightening the complexion.

To this day, jenny’s milk is often used in cosmetics, most particularly due to its make-up of fatty acids and vitamins A, B1, B2, B6, D, C and E.

Rich in nutrients and natural assets, jenny’s mill is known for its skin moisturising, nutritive, calming, firming and regenerating properties. It is particularly recommended in treating eczema or psoriasis, as well as for dry, sensitive, reactive or older skin.

Some Statistics

15 producers of mare’s milk were counted across France as of 2006 (Mare’s Milk Report)

  Jenny Mare Maternal Cow
Dry matter 8.8-11.7 9.3-11.8 11.7-12.9 12.5-13
Lactose 5.8-7.4 5.8-7 6.3-7 4.4-4.9
Fat 0.3-1.8 0.5-2 3.5-4 3.5-3.9
Protein 1.5-1.8 1.5-2.8 0.9-1.7 3.1-3.8
Ash 0.3-0.5 0.3-0.5 0.2-0.3 0.7-0.8

59 producers of jenny’s milk were counted across France in 2014 (Guillaume, 2014)

Composition of milk (g/100gr) in jenny’s milk, mare’s milk, maternal milk and cow’s milk (Guo et al. 2007)

Mares produce between 10 and 20 litres of milk a day, depending on the breed.

Equines have only two teats.

For More information about : Milk > >

Lait d’ânesse et de jument

Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Le lait de jument est le lait que produit la jument pour nourrir son poulain durant les six premiers mois suivant la naissance.

Le lait d’ânesse est le lait que produit l’ânesse pour nourrir son ânon durant les six premiers mois suivant la naissance.

Un peu d’histoire

©

©

Le lait de jument, comme le lait d’ânesse, sont utilisés depuis des millénaires, tant pour leurs avantages nutritionnels que pour leurs qualités cosmétiques.

Au fil de l’histoire, plusieurs personnages célèbres ont vanté les mérites de ces laits. Cléopâtre, entre autres, se prélassait dans des bains de ce lait précieux. Aristote, Hippocrate et d’autres diététiciens et médecins antiques le recommandaient pour soigner empoisonnements et blessures de guerre…

La longévité et la vigueur du peuple mongol, gros consommateur de lait de jument, a conduit les représentants de la médecine russe à l’utiliser dans un but thérapeutique.

Au XIXe siècle, on faisait appel au lait de jument comme lait de substitution au lait maternel. Très digeste, il soignait aussi les adultes qui souffraient de cirrhoses, d’ulcères de l’estomac, de gastralgies, d’entéralgies chroniques, de constipation, d’affections diverses de la vésicule biliaire et du pancréas.

Dans le prolongement de cette pratique, les laits d’ânesse et de jument étaient encore donnés aux nouveau-nés de l’hôpital Saint-Vincent-de-Paul (Paris) et dans des maternités (Libourne, Le Mans…) jusqu¹au milieu des années mille neuf cent cinquante.

C’est également à cette époque, que des médecins allemands et finlandais ont mis en évidence la similitude du lait de jument avec celui de la femme, justifiant ainsi son utilisation comme une substitution au lait maternel, garantissant une assimilation plus facile que celle des autres laits.

Le lait de jument dans l’alimentation

La composition du lait de jument est proche de celle du lait de femme. Monogastriques toutes les deux, leur appareil digestif est beaucoup moins développé que celui des ruminants (bovins, caprins, ovins…) qui, eux, ont une double digestion qui conduit à l’oxydation des acides gras polyinsaturés et de la vitamine D. Chez la jument, la digestion restitue les acides gras non saturés et les vitamines du fourrage et de l’herbe qui en sont riches.

Le lait de jument est une source naturelle de calcium. Il en contient 2 à 3 fois plus que le lait maternel.

 La composition du lait de jument ressemble étonnement au lait maternel. Il est riche en vitamines essentielles (A, D, E, C, K, B6, B12, B1-2-3-5), oligoéléments (fer, zinc, cuivre, manganèse) et minéraux (calcium, phosphore, sodium, magnésium). Il contient moins de matière grasse que le lait de vache et le lait humain.

De plus, du fait qu’il soit pauvre en caséine (protéine), il est particulièrement bien toléré par les personnes souffrant d’allergie aux protéines du lait de vache.

Le lait de jument est naturellement très riche en vitamine C antioxydante. La vitamine C contribue au fonctionnement du système immunitaire et joue un rôle dans l’absorption du fer.

Il contient également une enzyme jouant un rôle d’agent antimicrobien : le lysozyme.

© JL - Dugast - Traite jument Trait du Nord - Chevalait

© JL – Dugast – Traite jument Trait du Nord – Chevalait

Avantages et propriétés des composants du lait de jument sur la santé

Le lait de jument peut avoir un rôle important dans le système immunitaire en raison de certains de ses principaux composants.

C’est à sa teneur élevée en fer, associée à la présence d’une protéine, la lactoferrine, ou lactotransferrine, qui possède la capacité de fixer cet oligoélément et de le transporter à travers la circulation sanguine (Franco-Rodriguez et al. 2008), que le lait de jument doit ses vertus préventives sur l’anémie.

A défaut d’études cliniques sur les qualités du lait de jument, qui restent à mettre en œuvre, de nombreuses observations tendent à démontrer qu’il peut être une aide importante pour améliorer la récupération après les traitements de chimiothérapie dont il semble réduire les effets secondaires.

Pour les maladies digestives, le lait de jument peut aider à améliorer certains problèmes digestifs en agissant comme un probiotique. De plus, il semblerait que les effets anti inflammatoires du lait de jument peuvent réduire l’inflammation intestinale causée par la maladie de Crohn.

Grâce à la grande quantité de vitamines, minéraux, acides gras (oméga 3 et oméga 6) et acides aminés qu’il contient, il a été constaté que le lait de jument pouvait aider les gens souffrant de dépression ou de différents problèmes tels que le stress et l’anxiété (Csapó et al. 1995 Malacarne et al. 2002, Haddad et al. 2011).

Le lait de jument joue un rôle important pour faciliter l’absorption de certains des composants dont l’organisme a besoin, tels que le calcium, mieux assimilé, car fourni conjointement à la vitamine D, le lactose et les œstrogènes. Ainsi, pour un régime répondant aux exigences de l’organisme en calcium, entre autres nutriments, le lait de jument peut intervenir pour prévenir des maladies comme l’hypertension. (Hernandez et al. 1999).

Le lait de jument en cosmétique

Grâce à la présence de lactoferrine, le lait de jument aurait des propriétés hydratantes, mais également régénérantes, permettant ainsi de ralentir le vieillissement de la peau .

Le lait de jument serait également bénéfique pour les peaux acnéiques du fait de ses composantes antibactériennes ; il permettrait en outre de soigner en partie des affections cutanées plus importantes comme l’eczéma et le psoriasis, grâce à ses vertus cicatrisantes.

Le lait d’ânesse dans l’alimentation

Le lait d’ânesse était utilisé au XIXe siècle et jusqu’au début du XXe siècle comme substitut du lait maternel. Le lait d’ânesse est encore régulièrement recommandé comme alternative au lait de vache pour les enfants présentant une allergie aux protéines du lait de vache.

Dès l’Antiquité, Hippocrate prescrivait le lait d’ânesse pour diverses utilisations médicinales.

Tout comme le lait de jument, le lait d’ânesse est très proche du lait maternel, il est très digeste car il ne contient pas de caséine coagulable et peu de matière grasse. Le lait d’ânesse apporte des vitamines (A, B1, B2, B6, D, C, E), des minéraux et oligoéléments (calcium, magnésium, phosphore, sodium, fer, zinc…), des bio stimulines (immunoglobulines) et des alkyl glycérols intervenant dans la réponse immunitaire.

Avantages et propriétés des composants du lait d’ânesse sur la santé

Il convient aux bébés qui présentent une allergie sévère à la protéine de lait de vache et aux bébés souffrant de troubles digestifs.

Il renforce les défenses naturelles et permet de lutter contre le stress. Ses ferments régénèrent la flore intestinale. Il améliore le transit intestinal et favorise la détoxification du foie.

Lait d’ânesse et maladie de Crohn

DSC_0071

© ANR ânes et mulets des Pyrénées

Testé sur la souris, le lait d’ânesse, riche en lysozyme, exerce des propriétés anti-inflammatoires en palliant le déficit endogène en peptides antimicrobiens observés lors d’une iléite et en réduisant le disfonctionnement du microbiote intestinal. Cette étude permet de proposer le lait d’ânesse dans le cadre d’une stratégie thérapeutique d’appoint visant à maintenir/prolonger les périodes de rémission de la maladie de Crohn (Yvon et al 2014.)

Le lait d’ânesse en cosmétique

Pline l’Ancien, dans son Histoire naturelle, préconisait le lait d’ânesse pour toutes sortes de maux, et notamment pour fortifier les convalescents, ainsi que pour les soins de la peau, pour lutter contre les rides et éclaircir le teint.

Aujourd’hui encore, le lait d’ânesse est très souvent utilisé en cosmétique, et cela notamment du fait de sa composition en acides gras, en vitamines A, B1, B2, B6, D, C, et E.

Riche en nutriments et actifs naturels, le lait d’ânesse est connu pour ses propriétés hydratantes, nutritives, apaisantes, raffermissantes, et régénérantes sur la peau. Il est particulièrement recommandé pour le soin de problèmes tels que l’eczéma ou le psoriasis, ainsi que pour les peaux sèches, sensibles, réactives ou matures.

Quelques chiffres

15 producteurs de lait de jument ont été recensés dans toute la France, en 2006 (rapport lait de jument).

 59 producteurs de lait d’ânesse ont été recensés dans toute la France, en 2014 (Guillaume, 2014).

Composition du lait (g/100 g) chez l’ânesse, la jument, la femme et la vache (Guo et al., 2007)

Anesse Jument Femme Vache
Matière sèche 8.8-11.7 9.3-11.8 11.7-12.9 12.5-13
Lactose 5.8-7.4 5.8-7 6.3-7 4.4-4.9
MG 0.3-1.8 0.5-2 3.5-4 3.5-3.9
MP 1.5-1.8 1.5-2.8 0.9-1.7 3.1-3.8
Cendres 0.3-0.5 0.3-0.5 0.2-0.3 0.7-0.8

La jument produit entre 10 à 20 litres de lait par jour selon les races.

Les équidés possèdent seulement 2 mamelles.

En savoir plus sur : Lait d’ânesse et de jument

http://www.lejardindabricotine.fr/content/18-lait-de-jumenthttp://www.consoglobe.com/le-lait-de-jument-un-atout-sante-mal-connu-cghttp://www.psoriasis.zone/traitement/naturel/lait-jument/http://www.chevalait.com/content/7-la-fermehttp://www.franceanes.fr/page/60/les-editions-inam#.VmVJFtYVdP4