Poitevin Draft

Origins/Breeding Area:

SFET PoitevinEugène Ayrault, a 19th century veterinarian from Niort corroborated the hypothesis of a horse that originated in the marshlands of the Bas-Poitou by emphasising its morphology which bears the seal, in all its fibre and in everywhere in its shape, of the influence of low-lying and humid soil.

The indigenous strain was probably crossed in the 7th century with horses from the Netherlands. In 1867, a well-known zoological scientist called André Sanson stated that there was no discernible difference between the Poitevin draft and the Flemish draft, a heavy horse from northern Europe which had come to the Marais Poitevin (Poitou Marshlands) along with the Dutch workmen who had been commissioned to carry out work by King Henri IV.

On this subject, the director of the veterinary services of the Deux-Sèvres department, Léon Sausseau, noted in a 1925 work that if horses coming from the Netherlands were able to colonise these drying regions, they must have come across a similar type and held on to their character because they found themselves in a similar atmosphere to that of the Dutch “polders”.

Usually known as a “Mulassier” (mule breeder), the Poitevin Draft was made good use of until the end of the Second World War. It was a profitable business to cross Poitevin Draft mares with the Baudet du Poitou donkey, which gave the large-sized Poitou Mule that is known worldwide.

The breeding area stretches across most of the department of Vendée (17% of births, around Fontenay-le-Comte and Luçon), Deux Sèvres (11% of births around Melle), and the department of Vienne (18% of births around Civray), as well as the north of the department of Charente-Maritime (9% of births around Ruffec) which all fell in the district of the National stud Farms at Saintes and La Roche sur Yon). 72% of all Poitevin drafts are born within the five departments of the cradle of the breed. But the breed has started to spread to almost all parts of France and even overseas with breeding farms in Sweden and the United States.

The Plan to save the Breed:

In the early 90s, numbers were at their lowest (75 mares put to pure-bred stallions, leading to 39 foals). In 1994, a thorough survey showed a slight improvement. The 40,000 mares of the early 20th century (producing 14 to 15,000 mules a year) were now long gone, however, and the breed needed saving, with numbers at below 250 in total.

© Races mulassières du Poitou

In the year 2000, the breeders’ association was transformed into a National Unit for Breed Selection and Promotion (Unité Nationale de Sélection et de Promotion de Race (UPRA)) under the Livestock Act of 1966. This brought together for the first time all of those who are concerned by the future of this breed: breeders, approved organisations in charge of semen production (SABAUD and the Haras Nationaux (National Stud), users (stallion owners and riding clubs), and CREGENE (Atlantic Centre West Conservatory for Genetic Resources).

In the framework of the revision of the genetic measures included in the Agricultural Law of January 5, 2006, it was stated that the UPRAs were meant to become selection organisations. In the spring of 2010, as a logical progression to the work carried out by its founders, the Poitevin Drat UPRA became the Poitevin Draft National Association, the selection organisation for the breed.

Recognition:

The Poitevin Draft breed was recognised in 1884.

Number of Births:

In 2016: 41 births

In 2015: 56 births

In 2014: 55 births

In 2013: 61 births

In 2012: 71 births

Standard:

© Clémentine Bonnin

Size:

Stallions and Geldings: Minimum of 1.65m (16.1h)

Mares: Minimum of 1.60m (15.3h)

Colour:

The colour comes in various shades and can be grey, black, bay or dun.

Abilities:

Long raised fully outdoors in the Marais Poitevin, the Poitevin Draft is suited to humid zones.

Uses:

In addition to its adaptation to humid zones, the Poitevin Draft has another characteristic which gave it its full name of Trait Poitevin Mulassier: the cross-breeding of Poitevin mares with Baudet du Poitou donkeys, which gives a remarkable hybrid, the Poitevin Mule.

Elegant, docile and close to man, the Poitevin Draft is highly valued for leisure activities (both ridden and riven). Its natural good looks (unusual coats and full manes) makes it very appealing, especially in the tourism industry. Its calm nature and its pulling abilities are valued by professional loggers, those who work in vineyards, and for municipal work.

Sources: IFCE, National Breed Organisation

For More information about : Poitevin Draft

National Breed Organisation

Association des Races Mulassières du PoitouRMP membre SFET

2 rue du Port Brouillac 79510 Coulon

France

Tel. : +33-(0)5 49 76 91 31

 Website :

http://anr-poitou.web-altern.com/ (French only)

Trait Poitevin Mulassier

Origine / zone d’élevage : 

SFET PoitevinPour corroborer l’hypothèse d’un cheval de trait originaire des marais du Bas-Poitou, Eugène Ayrault, vétérinaire à Niort au XIXe siècle, s’appuie sur la morphologie de l’animal, qui porte le cachet, dans toutes ses fibres, dans toutes ses formes, […] de l’influence d’un sol bas et humide.

Au XVIIe siècle, la souche indigène aurait cependant été croisée avec des animaux provenant des Pays-Bas. En 1867, un zootechnicien réputé, André Sanson, considère même qu’il n’existe aucune différence caractéristique entre le type poitevin et la race flamande, un cheval lourd du nord de l’Europe qui accompagnait les travailleurs hollandais venus dans le Marais poitevin pour y réaliser les travaux de dessèchement commandités par Henri IV.

A ce propos, Sausseau (directeur des services vétérinaires des Deux-Sèvres), fait remarquer, dans un ouvrage publié en 1925, que si des sujets tirés des Pays-Bas ont pu faire souche dans nos régions en voie de dessèchement, ils ont dû s’y rencontrer avec des chevaux d’un modèle voisin et y conserver leurs caractères, parce qu’ils se sont trouvés soumis à la même ambiance que dans leurs polders de provenance.

Habituellement qualifié de mulassier, le Trait poitevin fut exploité jusqu’au lendemain de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, et de façon fort rentable, pour produire (par l’union contre nature de la jument Trait poitevin avec le Baudet du Poitou) une mule de grande taille, la Mule poitevine, réputée dans le monde entier.

La zone d’élevage s’étend à l’ensemble de la Vendée (17 % des naissances ; Fontenay le Comte, Luçon), aux Deux Sèvres (11 % des naissances ; Melle) et à la Vienne (18 % des naissances ; Civray), au nord de la Charente-Maritime (17% des naissances ; St Jean d’Angely – Marans) et au nord-ouest de la Charente (9% des naissances ; Ruffec), c’est-à-dire aux circonscriptions des Haras de Saintes et de la Roche-sur-Yon. 72% des naissances de Trait poitevin ont lieu dans les cinq départements du berceau de la race. Mais le Trait poitevin, a commencé à s’étendre à quasiment toutes les régions de France et même à l’étranger, avec un élevage en Suède et un autre aux Etats-Unis.

Le plan de sauvegarde :

Au début des années 90, le cheptel est au plus bas (75 juments saillies en race pure ont donné naissance à 39 produits). En 1994, un inventaire approfondi met en évidence une légère reprise de la production. L

© Races mulassières du Poitou

es 40 000 juments du début du siècle (14 à 15 000 mules produites chaque année) font cependant partie d’un passé révolu, et c’est un cheptel inférieur à 250 animaux qu’il faut alors préserver de la disparition …

En l’an 2000, et en application de la loi sur l’élevage de 1966, l’Association des éleveurs a été transformée en Unité de Sélection et de Promotion des Races (UPRa), qui regroupe pour la première fois l’ensemble des partenaires concernés par l’avenir de cette production : éleveurs, organismes agréés chargés de la production de semence (SABAUD et haras nationaux), utilisateurs (étalonniers, centres équestres) et CREGENE (Conservatoire des ressources génétiques du Centre Ouest Atlantique).

Dans le cadre de la réforme du dispositif génétique français inscrit dans la Loi d´orientation agricole du 5 janvier 2006, il était écrit que les UPRa étaient destinées à devenir Organismes de Sélection (OS). Au printemps 2010, dans la suite logique du travail accompli par ses fondateurs, l’UPRa Mulassières du Poitou a donc cédé la place à l’Association Nationale des Races Mulassières du Poitou, Organisme de Sélection (OS) des Races Mulassières du Poitou.

Reconnaissance : 

La race du Trait poitevin a été reconnue en 1884.

Nombre de naissances : 

En 2014 : 55 naissances
En 2013 : 61 naissances
En 2012 : 71 naissances
En 2011 : 75 naissances
En 2010 : 96 naissances

Standard :

© Clémentine Bonnin

Taille : 

Mâle : minimum 1,65 m

Femelle : minimum 1,60 m

Robe : 

Sa robe, aux teintes variées, peut être grise, noire, baie ou « isabelle ».

Aptitudes :

Elevé depuis toujours dans le Marais poitevin en plein air intégral, le Trait poitevin est adapté aux zones humides.

Utilisations : 

Outre son adaptation aux zones humides, le Trait poitevin possède une particularité qui a donné son nom à cette race : le croisement de la jument de race Trait poitevin mulassier avec un Baudet du Poitou donne un animal hybride remarquable : la Mule poitevine.

Élégant, docile et proche de l’homme, le cheval Trait poitevin est très apprécié pour le loisir (selle ou attelage). Sa distinction naturelle (robes originales et crins abondants) lui confère un atout majeur, notamment pour les prestations touristiques. Son calme et ses aptitudes à la traction sont appréciés, tant des débardeurs professionnels et des prestataires de service en viticulture, que des collectivités territoriales.

Sources : IFCE, Association nationale de Race.

En savoir plus sur : Trait Poitevin Mulassier

Association nationale de race : RMP membre SFET

Association des Races Mulassières du Poitou

2 rue du Port Brouillac
79510 Coulon

Tel. : 05 49 76 91 31

Site web
http://anr-poitou.web-anr.net/